Auto Club 400 Preview

Race Info

Date- March 25th, 2012

Location- Fontana, CA

Start Time- 3:16 PM EST/ 12:16 PT

Distance- 200 Laps/ 400 Miles

Broadcast TV- FOX

Broadcast Radio- MRN

Weather Forecast

High- 62 F Low- 44 F

Chance of rain- 30%

Few Showers

Past Race Winners

2011- Kevin Harvick

2010- Jimmie Johnson

2009- Matt Kenseth

2008- Carl Edwards

2007- Matt Kenseth

Notables yet to win spring race at track

A.J Allmendinger (Team owner Roger Penske owns track)

Brad Keselowski (Team owner Roger Penske owns track)

Kyle Busch (JGR has not won at track)

Denny Hamlin (JGR has not won at track)

Joey Logano (JGR has not won at track)

Ryan Newman (SHR has no wins)

Tony Stewart (SHR has no wins)

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Kasey Kahne

News & Notes

Chad Knaus remains on pit box after NASCAR heard the No.48 teams appeal and lifted all suspensions and points penalty

Brad Keselowski looks to win back-to-back races this season

Kevin Harvick looks to repeat

Jimmie Johnson looks for revenge after Harvick passed him on last lap last year to win

Race attendance looks for increase

Dale Earnhardt Jr. continues to attempt to get back to victory lane, last visit to victory lane was 133 races ago in Michigan last year at Auto Club Speedway Earnhardt Jr. finished 12th

My Fantasy Racing Picks

Group A- Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson

Group B- Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jamie McMurray

Group C- Casey Mears, Aric Almirola

Event Schedule

Cup Practice 3:30 PM EST/ 12:30 PM PT Friday Televised on SPEED

Qualifying 7:00 PM EST/ 4:00 PM PT Friday Televised on SPEED

Practice 12:30 PM EST/ 9:30 AM PT Saturday Televised on SPEED

Practice 3:30 PM EST/ 12:30 PM PT Saturday Televised on SPEED

Race 2:30 PM EST/ 11:30 AM PT Sunday Televised on FOX

Next Race- Goody’s Fast Relief 500 @ Martinsville Raceway Martinsville, VA

Entry List via Nascar.com

CAR

DRIVER

HOMETOWN

MAKE

SPONSOR

OWNER

1 Jamie McMurray Joplin, MO Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Allstate Felix Sabates
2 Brad Keselowski Rochester Hills, MI Dodge Miller Lite Roger Penske
5 Kasey Kahne Enumclaw, WA Chevrolet Quaker State Linda Hendrick
7 Robby Gordon Orange, CA Dodge Speed Energy Robby Gordon
9 Marcos Ambrose Launceston, Tasmania Ford Dewalt Richard Petty
10 David Reutimann Zephyrhills, FL Chevrolet Accell Construction Tommy Baldwin
11 Denny Hamlin Chesterfield, VA Toyota FedEx Express J D Gibbs
13 Casey Mears Bakersfield, CA Ford GEICO Bob Germain
14 Tony Stewart Rushville, IN Chevrolet Office Depot / Mobil 1 Margaret Haas
15 Clint Bowyer Emporia, KS Toyota 5-hour Energy Rob Kauffman
16 Greg Biffle Vancouver, WA Ford 3M Jack Roush
17 Matt Kenseth Cambridge, WI Ford Ford EcoBoost John Henry
18 Kyle Busch Las Vegas, NV Toyota Interstate Batteries Joe Gibbs
20 Joey Logano Middletown, CT Toyota Dollar General Joe Gibbs
22 AJ Allmendinger Los Gatos, CA Dodge Southern California AAA Walter Czarnecki
23 Scott Riggs Bahama, NC Chevrolet North Texas Pipe Robert Richardson
24 Jeff Gordon Pittsboro, IN Chevrolet Drive to End Hunger Rick Hendrick
26 Josh Wise* Riverside, CA Ford Morristown Driver’s Service Jerry Freeze
27 Paul Menard Eau Claire, WI Chevrolet CertainTeed / Menards Richard Childress
29 Kevin Harvick Bakersfield, CA Chevrolet Jimmy John’s Gourmet Sandwiches Richard Childress
30 David Stremme South Bend, IN Toyota @TheNASCARFans Kevin Buckler
31 Jeff Burton South Boston, VA Chevrolet Caterpillar Richard Childress
32 Ken Schrader Fenton, MO Ford U.S. Chrome / 1 Less Than 2 Ltd. Jack Roush
33 Brendan Gaughan Las Vegas, NV Chevrolet South Point Hotel & Casino Richard Childress
34 David Ragan Unadilla, GA Ford Front Row Motorsports Bob Jenkins
36 Dave Blaney Hartford, OH Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing Allan Heinke
37 Timmy Hill* Port Tobacco, MD Ford Poynt.com Larry Gunselman
38 David Gilliland Riverside, CA Ford 1-800LoanMart Brad Jenkins
39 Ryan Newman South Bend, IN Chevrolet U.S. Army Tony Stewart
42 Juan Montoya Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet Target Chip Ganassi
43 Aric Almirola Tampa, FL Ford Medallion Financial Richard Petty
47 Bobby Labonte Corpus Christi, TX Toyota Charter Tad Geschickter
48 Jimmie Johnson El Cajon, CA Chevrolet Lowe’s / Jimmie Johnson Foundation Jeff Gordon
51 Kurt Busch Las Vegas, NV Chevrolet Phoenix Construction Services James Finch
55 Mark Martin Batesville, AR Toyota Aaron’s Dream Machine Bill Jenkins
56 Martin Truex Jr. Mayetta, NJ Toyota NAPA Auto Parts Michael Waltrip
74 Reed Sorenson Peachtree City, GA Chevrolet Turn One Racing Vickie Compton
78 Regan Smith Cato, NY Chevrolet Furniture Row / Farm American Barney Visser
83 Landon Cassill Cedar Rapids, IA Toyota Burger King / Dr Pepper Thomas Ueberall
87 Joe Nemechek Lakeland, FL Toyota AMFMEnergy.com / Pellet & Wood Stoves Andrea Nemechek
88 Dale Earnhardt Β  Jr. Kannapolis, NC Chevrolet Diet Mountain Dew / National Guard Rick Hendrick
93 Travis Kvapil Janesville, WI Toyota Burger King / Dr Pepper Thomas Ueberall
98 Michael McDowell Phoenix, AZ Ford Curb Records Dusty Whitney
99 Carl Edwards Columbia, MO Ford Subway Jack Roush
119 Mike Bliss Milwaukie, OR Toyota Humphrey Smith Racing Randy Humphrey
249 J.J. Yeley Phoenix, AZ Toyota America Israel Racing Jay Robinson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s