New Hall of Fame Class Includes Big Names

Via Getty Images

By Caleb Slouha

On May 23rd, 2012, the new inductees for the 2013 class in the Nascar Hall of Fame were announced at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, North Carolina. A new award, named the Squier-Hall award, was also announced for the media side of the world of Nascar. The award is named after legendary NASCAR radio broadcaster Barney Hall and legendary broadcaster/ track announcer Ken Squier. Here are the inductees for the 2013 Hall of Fame class.

Herb Thomas, Via

Herb Thomas- Herb is one of the first drivers in NASCAR. A pioneer of the sport, Herb was either 1st or 2nd every year from 1951-1954. Over 11 years, he ran 228 races, getting 48 wins. He also scored 156 top tens, and 39 poles. He has a 21 win percentage, the second highest of anyone else.

Leonard Wood -Via

Leonard Wood- Leonard is a winner, and an owner of one of the oldest teams in NASCAR. Wood co-owns Wood Brothers Racing and in 2011, Wood Brothers Racing won the 2011 Daytona 500. During his time in the sport, he made 990 starts. That’s including 96 wins, and 117 poles. Wood was also the creator of the faster pit stops and strategy that they now use.

Rusty Wallace via

Rusty Wallace- Rusty retired from the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series after the 2005 season but is still active in the sport, Rusty is a broadcaster for NASCAR ESPN . Making 706 starts, he earned 55 wins, and 36 poles during his career. Rusty is known for owning tracks by winning, and by building. Rusty, a creator of Iowa speedway, also got many wins at road course tracks, and short tracks like Bristol and Richmond. He is also known for beating the big guys like Dale Earnhardt and Mark Martin. Rusty made the Hall of Fame on his first ballot. That was a shock to him and his family.

Cotton Owens via

Cotton Owens- Cotton is one of the very few successful drivers that were also successful as an owner. As a driver/owner combination, he had 565 starts, 47 wins, and 43 poles. Owens also won the Daytona road course race 9 times.

Buck Baker via

Buck Baker- Buck is the first driver to win consecutive championships. Only one person can say that. Before he was a race car driver? He drove a bus. In his career, he made 636 starts, earned 46 wins, and 45 poles. Buck also became a successful owner in the series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s