Allmendinger Update

Photo- Getty Images

After suspension last Saturday at Daytona for a failed sample “A” drug test, Allmendinger has confirmed he has requested for the sample “B” to be tested. If positive, Allmendinger will be suspended indefinitely but if negative, he’ll likely be back in the car at Indianapolis in just over two weeks. Below is a statement released by Allmendinger.

“I have informed NASCAR that I have requested that the ‘B’ sample be tested, following the steps according to NASCAR’s 2012 rule book regarding this situation. I fully respect NASCAR’s drug usage policy and the reasons they have it. I am hoping this can get resolved as quickly as possible so that I can get back to driving the No.22 Penske Racing Dodge. I am sorry that this has caused such a distraction for my Penske Racing team, our sponsors and fans. Obviously I would never anything to jeopardize my opportunity here at Penske Racing or to my fellow drivers. I am very conscious about my training and health and would never knowingly take a prohibited drug.”

The ‘B’ sample could take several weeks to be tested or just a few days. Until then, we won’t know anymore about Allmendinger’s future.

Leave a Reply

