Johnson Wins Fourth Career Race at Indianapolis

Johnson celebrates in victory lane Photo- Getty Images

Jimmie Johnson dominated the race at Indianapolis today, leading 99 out of 160 laps. Johnson entered the record books of Indianapolis Motor Speedway by winning his fourth race at the track, tying teammate Jeff Gordon in stock cars and Johnson’s racing hero Rick Mears in open-wheel cars. Johnson took control of the race just before halfway and never let up.

Pole-sitter Denny Hamlin led early while outside pole-sitter Carl Edwards experienced problems. On lap 13, Edwards started experiencing issues, Edwards fell off pace and had to pit. His team couldn’t find any major issues so they sent him back out two laps down and in 39th place. Edwards can’t afford these things to happen if he wants a shot at making the Chase.

The first round of green-flag stops began on lap 26 and after they finished up, Johnson beat Hamlin off pit road to take the race lead. The first caution came out on lap 41 when Travis Kvapil’s car cut down a tire and hit the wall. The leaders pitted and Hamlin beat Johnson off pit road but Brad Keselowski stayed out and took the lead. Just after the restart, Johnson regained the lead.

The yellow flag waved again on lap 47 for Clint Bowyer who cut down a tire and spun around, the cut tire caused damage to Bowyer’s car so Bowyer pitted but remained on the lead lap. On lap 71, green-flag pit stops began again and Keselowski was the leader after the stops because he didn’t come down pit road. At the halfway mark in the race Keselowski led followed by Johnson, Gordon, Biffle and Kyle Busch. On lap 90, Keselowski pitted and Johnson became the leader.

The next caution came out on lap 94 for Casey Mears who had a part break and he left debris on the track. Brad Keselowski didn’t need to pit and he became race leader and Regan Smith was in second because he took fuel only during his pit stop. In turn two after the restart, Keselowski got loose and slid up the track and Regan Smith went under him to take the lead but not for long as Johnson passed Smith on the backstretch. With 50 to go, the Hendrick duo of Johnson and Gordon led.

With 35 to go the caution came out for Jeff Burton who cut a tire down and left debris on the racing surface. Greg Biffle was the leader on the restart but Johnson was right on his tail. Just a few laps after the restart, Johnson took the lead from Biffle. With 28 to go, the caution came out for a wreck involving the point’s leader. Going into turn one, Joey Logano got loose under Trevor Bayne and slid up the track and then he came down into Bobby Labonte and then back up into point’s leader Matt Kenseth. The wreck caused a lot of damage to Kenseth’s car, ending his day. Kenseth commented after the wreck about falling back in the pack and the racing action back there by saying “the further we got back, the dumber people drove.” That wreck created a shake up in the point’s standings.

Johnson kisses the bricks for a record tying fourth time Photo- Getty Images

That was the final caution of the day and on the restart Johnson drove away. Johnson didn’t look back for the final laps and crossed the finish line first. This was Johnson’s third point’s race victory of the year and his fourth career win at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Johnson was pumped up in victory lane and reflected on his accomplishment at Indy and said it is “Such an honor to win here.” After Kenseth crashed out of the race, Johnson’s teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr inherited the points lead. Earnhardt Jr is leading the points of the first time since the 2004 season. Kyle Busch got some consistency back today by finishing second. Busch said he had nothing for Johnson today and that “(Johnson) was in his own country today.” A dominate performance by Johnson today proved that he is still the best driver out there. As the Chase nears, wins mean everything and Johnson is setting himself up nicely for a shot at a sixth Sprint Cup Championship.

Results via










1 6 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe’s / Kobalt Tools 48/5 160 Running
2 7 18 Kyle Busch Toyota M&M’s 43/1 160 Running
3 5 16 Greg Biffle Ford 3M 42/1 160 Running
4 20 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet AMP Energy / National Guard 40/0 160 Running
5 9 24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet Drive to End Hunger 40/1 160 Running
6 1 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Express 39/1 160 Running
7 11 39 Ryan Newman Chevrolet Quicken Loans 37/0 160 Running
8 17 56 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota NAPA Auto Parts 36/0 160 Running
9 22 2 Brad Keselowski Dodge Miller Lite 36/1 160 Running
10 28 14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Mobil 1 / Office Depot 34/0 160 Running
11 19 55 Mark Martin Toyota Aaron’s Dream Machine 33/0 160 Running
12 15 5 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet Farmers Insurance 32/0 160 Running
13 27 29 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Jimmy Johns 31/0 160 Running
14 8 27 Paul Menard Chevrolet Menards / Nibco 30/0 160 Running
15 33 15 Clint Bowyer Toyota 5-hour Energy 29/0 160 Running
16 24 22 Sam Hornish Jr. Dodge Shell / Pennzoil 0 160 Running
17 18 21 Trevor Bayne Ford Motorcraft / Quick Lane Tire & Auto Center 0 160 Running
18 14 78 Regan Smith Chevrolet Furniture Row / Farm American 26/0 160 Running
19 4 43 Aric Almirola Ford Eckrich 25/0 160 Running
20 23 9 Marcos Ambrose Ford DEWALT 24/0 160 Running
21 12 42 Juan Montoya Chevrolet Target 23/0 160 Running
22 16 1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Tracker 22/0 160 Running
23 32 36 Dave Blaney Chevrolet SealWrap 21/0 160 Running
24 26 30 David Stremme Toyota Inception Motorsports 20/0 160 Running
25 38 83 Landon Cassill Toyota Burger King 20/1 160 Running
26 29 47 Bobby Labonte Toyota Scott Products 19/1 160 Running
27 31 38 David Gilliland Ford Big Machine Records 17/0 160 Running
28 36 34 David Ragan Ford Scorpion Coatings / Al’s Liners 16/0 160 Running
29 2 99 Carl Edwards Ford Fastenal 15/0 156 Running
30 42 32 Ken Schrader Ford Special Operations For 14/0 156 Running
31 37 33 Stephen Leicht * Chevrolet Little Joes A
13/0 154 Running
32 21 31 Jeff Burton Chevrolet Rain-X 12/0 151 Running
33 3 20 Joey Logano Toyota Dollar General 11/0 144 Running
34 25 13 Casey Mears Ford GEICO 10/0 137 Running
35 10 17 Matt Kenseth Ford Fifth Third Bank 10/1 132 Accident
36 13 51 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 8/0 126 Engine
37 30 93 Travis Kvapil Toyota Burger King 7/0 40 Accident
38 34 195 Scott Speed Ford Leavine Family Racing 6/0 23 Brakes
39 41 10 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing 5/0 20 Transmission
40 35 26 Josh Wise * Chevrolet Taco Bell 4/0 19 Brakes
41 40 23 Scott Riggs Chevrolet North Texas Pipe 3/0 14 Rear Gear
42 39 179 Mike Skinner Ford Koma Unwind 2/0 11 Rear Gear
43 43 119 Mike Bliss Toyota Humphrey Smith Racing 0 5 Engine



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s