NNS: Zippo 200 at the Glen Preview

Photo- Getty Images

Race Info

Date- August 11th, 2012

Location- Watkins Glen, New York

Start time- 2:35 PM EST

Distance- 82 Laps, 200.9 Miles

Broadcast TV- ABC

Broadcast Radio- MRN

Weather Forecast

High 82 F Low 60 F

Chance of rain- 20%

Partly Cloudy

Past Race Winners

2011- Kurt Busch

2010- Marcos Ambrose

2009- Marcos Ambrose

2008- Marcos Ambrose

2007- Kevin Harvick

Notables yet to win Zippo 200 at the Glen

Elliot Sadler

Ricky Stenhouse Jr

Brian Scott

Sam Hornish Jr

Justin Allgaier

Michael Annett

News & Notes

Carl Edwards to make 2012 Nationwide Series debut in the No.60 for Roush-Fenway Racing

We will have a different winner this year since last year’s winner (Kurt Busch) is not entered

Sadler looks to win fifth race of the season and keep point’s lead

Austin Dillon looks to hunt down Sadler for the points lead

This is the second of three road course races the Nationwide Series will take part in this season

Watkins Glen is the only track where the cars go the opposite way around the track (usually first turn is to the left, at Watkins Glen it’s to the right)

Road Course “ringers” in the field include Boris Said, Ron Fellows, Miguel Paludo and Victor Gonzalez Jr

Event Schedule

Nationwide Series Practice 2:00 PM EST Friday on SPEED

Nationwide Series Qualifying 9:30 AM EST Saturday on ESPN2

Nationwide Series Race, the Zippo 200 at the Glen, 2:00 PM EST Saturday on ABC

Next Race-NAPA Auto Parts 200 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve Montreal, Canada

Entry List via Nascar.com







01 Mike Wallace St. Louis, MO Chevrolet G&K Services Johnny Davis
2 Elliott Sadler Emporia, VA Chevrolet OneMain Financial DeLana Harvick
3 Austin Dillon* Lewisville, NC Chevrolet AdvoCare Morgan Shepherd
4 Daryl Harr St. Albert, Alberta Chevrolet iWorld Rusty Wallace
5 Ron Fellows Mississauga, Ontario Chevrolet Canadian Tire Rick Hendrick
6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Olive Branch, MS Ford Roush Fenway Racing Jack Roush
7 Danica Patrick Roscoe, IL Chevrolet GoDaddy.com Kelley Earnhardt-Miller
10 Jeff Green Owensboro, KY Toyota TriStar Motorsports Mark Smith
11 Brian Scott Boise, ID Toyota Dollar General J D Gibbs
12 Sam Hornish Jr. Bryan, OH Dodge PPG Roger Penske
14 Eric McClure Chilhowie, VA Toyota Hefty / Reynolds Wrap Mark Smith
15 Chris Cook San Diego, CA Chevrolet Rick Ware Racing Rick Ware
18 Joey Logano Middletown, CT Toyota GameStop Joe Gibbs
19 Tayler Malsam Sammamish, WA Toyota G-Oil / Noah’s Light Foundation Mark Smith
20 Ryan Truex Mayetta, NJ Toyota Grime Boss Joe Gibbs
22 Brad Keselowski Rochester Hills, MI Dodge SKF / Discount Tire Roger Penske
23 TBA2 No Home Town Chevrolet North Texas Pipe Robert Richardson, Sr
30 Miguel Paludo Nova Prata, Brazil Chevrolet Duroline Brakes Harry Scott, Jr
31 Justin Allgaier Riverton, IL Chevrolet Brandt Sandra Turner
33 Paul Menard Eau Claire, WI Chevrolet Menards DeLana Harvick
38 Kasey Kahne Enumclaw, WA Chevrolet Great Clips Steve Turner
39 Matthew Bell San Francisco, CA Chevrolet Global Barter Corp. Archie St Hilaire
40 Erik Darnell Beach Park, IL Chevrolet Key Motorsports Curtis Key, Sr
41 Timmy Hill Port Tobacco, MD Ford Rick Ware Racing Rick Ware
42 Matt DiBenedetto Grass Valley, CA Chevrolet Key Motorsports Curtis Key, Sr
43 Michael Annett Des Moines, IA Ford Pilot Flying J Sandra Turner
44 Mike Bliss Milwaukie, OR Toyota TriStar Motorsports Mark Smith
46 Chase Miller Canton, GA Chevrolet The Motorsports Group Curtis Key, Sr
47 Josh Wise Riverside, CA Chevrolet Curtis Key Plumbing Curtis Key, Sr
51 Jeremy Clements Spartanburg, SC Chevrolet Clements Automotive Tony Clements
52 Ryan Ellis Ashburn, VA Chevrolet Jimmy Means Racing Jimmy Means
54 Kyle Busch Las Vegas, NV Toyota Monster Energy Kyle Busch
60 Carl Edwards Columbia, MO Dodge Ford EcoBoost Jack Roush
70 Tony Raines La Porte, IN Chevrolet ML Motorsports Mary Louise Miller
81 Jason Bowles* Ontario, CA Toyota American Majority Gina MacDonald
87 Alex Kennedy Aztec, NM Toyota Global Barter Corporation / Dream Factory Andrea Nemechek
88 Cole Whitt* Alpine, CA Chevrolet TaxSlayer.com Dale Earnhardt, Jr
89 Morgan Shepherd Conover, NC Chevrolet Hyland’s Leg Cramps Morgan Shepherd
97 Joe Nemechek Lakeland, FL Toyota AM / FM Energy Wood & Pellet Stoves Andrea Nemechek
100 Derek White Kahnawake, Quebec Chevrolet TBA Mike Ruch
108 Louis-Philippe Dumoulin Trois-Rivieres Quebec Ford Randy Hill Racing Randy Hill
124 Casey Roderick* Lawrenceville GA Toyota Michael Connolly Endowment for Lung Cancer Research Jason Sciavicco
126 John Young Discovery Bay, CA Dodge Eklekt Technologies Group John Young
153 Eric Curran Holyoke, MA Dodge TBA Robert Torriere
159 Kyle Kelley Huntington Beach, CA Chevrolet Jamison Eng. / UPR.com Bob Kelley
199 Victor Gonzalez Jr. San Juan, Puerto Rico Toyota Delta Commercial / IMCA Robby Benton
275 Kenny Habul Etobicoke, Ontario Toyota SunEnergy 1 Racing Kenny Habul



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s