NSCS: Finger Lakes 355 at the Glen Preview


Photo- Getty Images

Race Info

Date- Sunday August 12th, 2012

Location- Watkins Glen, New York

Start time- 1:18 PM EST

Distance- 90 Laps, 220.5 Miles

Broadcast TV- ESPN

Broadcast Radio- MRN

Weather Forecast

High 78 F Low 57 F

Chance of rain- 10%

Partly Cloudy

Past Race Winners

2011- Marcos Ambrose

2010- Juan Pablo Montoya

2009- Tony Stewart

2008- Kyle Busch

2007- Tony Stewart

Notables yet to win the Finger Lakes 355 at the Glen

Brad Keselowski

Kasey Kahne

Denny Hamlin

Clint Bowyer

Greg Biffle

Matt Kenseth

Kevin Harvick

Jimmie Johnson

Dale Earnhardt Jr

Carl Edwards

News & Notes

Marcos Ambrose looks to win second consecutive Sprint Cup race at Watkins Glen

Tony Stewart looks to win his sixth race at Watkins Glen

This is the final road course race of the season

Clint Bowyer looks to sweep the races at road courses in 2012

This is the only track where drivers turn right into turn one instead of left

This is one of five tracks Jimmie Johnson has never won at

Dale Earnhardt Jr looks to maintain his point’s lead

The only road course β€œringer” in the field is Boris Said

My Fantasy Racing Picks Β 

Group A- Tony Stewart, Brad Keselowski

Group B- Marcos Ambrose, Juan Pablo Montoya, Dale Earnhardt Jr, Kurt Busch

Group C- Brian Vickers, Aric Almirola

Event Schedule

Sprint Cup Series Practice 12:00 PM EST Friday on SPEED

Sprint Cup Series Practice 4:00 PM EST Friday on SPEED

Sprint Cup Series Qualifying 11:30 AM EST Saturday on ESPN2

Sprint Cup Series Race, the Finger Lakes 355 at the Glen, 12:00 PM EST Sunday on ESPN

Next Race- Pure Michigan 400 at the Michigan International Speedway Brooklyn, Michigan

Entry List via Nascar.com







1 Jamie McMurray Joplin, MO Chevrolet McDonald’s Felix Sabates
2 Brad Keselowski Rochester Hills, MI Dodge Miller Lite Roger Penske
5 Kasey Kahne Enumclaw, WA Chevrolet Farmers Insurance Linda Hendrick
9 Marcos Ambrose Launceston, Tasmania Ford Stanley Richard Petty
10 J.J. Yeley Phoenix, AZ Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing Tommy Baldwin
11 Denny Hamlin Chesterfield, VA Toyota FedEx Freight J D Gibbs
13 Casey Mears Bakersfield, CA Ford GEICO Bob Germain
14 Tony Stewart Rushville, IN Chevrolet Office Depot / Mobil 1 Margaret Haas
15 Clint Bowyer Emporia, KS Toyota 5-hour Energy Rob Kauffman
16 Greg Biffle Vancouver, WA Ford 3M Jack Roush
17 Matt Kenseth Cambridge, WI Ford Ford EcoBoost John Henry
18 Kyle Busch Las Vegas, NV Toyota M&M’s Joe Gibbs
20 Joey Logano Middletown, CT Toyota The Home Depot Joe Gibbs
22 Sam Hornish Jr. Bryan, OH Dodge Shell / Pennzoil Walter Czarnecki
24 Jeff Gordon Pittsboro, IN Chevrolet Drive to End Hunger Rick Hendrick
26 Josh Wise* Riverside, CA Ford MDS Transport Jerry Freeze
27 Paul Menard Eau Claire, WI Chevrolet Menards / Rheem Richard Childress
29 Kevin Harvick Bakersfield, CA Chevrolet Budweiser Richard Childress
30 Patrick Long Thousand Oaks, CA Toyota TRG Motorsports Kevin Buckler
31 Jeff Burton South Boston, VA Chevrolet Caterpillar Richard Childress
32 Boris Said Carlsbad, CA Ford HendrickCars.com Jack Roush
33 Stephen Leicht* Asheville, NC Chevrolet Little Joes
Richard Childress
34 David Ragan Unadilla, GA Ford Scorpion Truck Bed Liners Bob Jenkins
36 Dave Blaney Hartford, OH Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing Allan Heinke
38 David Gilliland Riverside, CA Ford ModSpace Brad Jenkins
39 Ryan Newman South Bend, IN Chevrolet U.S. Army Tony Stewart
42 Juan Montoya Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet Target Chip Ganassi
43 Aric Almirola Tampa, FL Ford Smithfield Richard Petty
47 Bobby Labonte Corpus Christi, TX Toyota Miller Welders Freightliner Tad Geschickter
48 Jimmie Johnson El Cajon, CA Chevrolet Lowe’s Cortez Silver Jeff Gordon
51 Kurt Busch Las Vegas, NV Chevrolet Phoenix Construction Services James Finch
55 Brian Vickers Thomasville, NC Toyota My Classic Garage Bill Jenkins
56 Martin Truex Jr. Mayetta, NJ Toyota NAPA Auto Parts Michael Waltrip
78 Regan Smith Cato, NY Chevrolet Furniture Row / Farm American Barney Visser
83 Landon Cassill Cedar Rapids, IA Toyota Burger King / Dr Pepper Thomas Ueberall
87 Joe Nemechek Lakeland, FL Toyota Genny Light Andrea Nemechek
88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Kannapolis, NC Chevrolet National Guard / Diet Mountain Dew Rick Hendrick
93 Travis Kvapil Janesville, WI Toyota Burger King / Dr Pepper Thomas Ueberall
98 Michael McDowell Phoenix, AZ Ford Phil Parsons Racing Mike Curb
99 Carl Edwards Columbia, MO Ford Fastenal Jack Roush
119 Mike Bliss Milwaukie, OR Toyota Humphrey Smith Racing Randy Humphrey
195 Scott Speed Manteca, CA Ford Leavine Family Racing Bob Leavine
249 Jason Leffler Long Beach, CA Toyota America Israel Racing Jay Robinson





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s