Gale Gets His First Truck Win, Buescher Crowned Champion

Photo- Getty Images

Cale Gale beat out Kyle Busch for the win Friday Night in Homestead-Miami and James Buescher won his first career NASCAR championship. Buescher remained steady throughout the race and when Ty Dillon was involved in a wreck late in the race; Buescher cruised to take home the championship trophy. Buescher became the second straight first time champion in the Truck Series and he closed out a marvelous season with a championship that was well deserved.

Parker Kligerman started the race on the pole and he led the first six laps before being passed by Nelson Piquet Jr. The first caution of the night flew on lap 35 for debris. The leaders pitted and Kyle Busch came off of pit road first and took the lead. The second yellow flag of the evening came out on lap 44 for Bryan Silas who got into the wall. Kyle Larson took his first lead of the race on lap 51 when he passed Kyle Busch.

The halfway point in the race was reached and Larson led. Point’s leader James Buescher was ninth, another championship hopeful –Ty Dillon- was sixth and the third championship contender –Timothy Peters- was running thirteenth. The final round of green flag pit stops began with 48 laps to go and all the championship contenders pitted without incident. Kyle Larson cycled through the round of stops as the leader. The third yellow flag of the day came out with 30 laps to go for Max Gresham who got into the wall. The leaders pitted and Johnny Sauter was the new leader on the restart and he was soon passed by Kyle Busch for the lead.

Another caution flew with ten laps to go for Gresham getting into the wall again and some drivers pitted while others stayed out. Buescher stayed on the track to keep his track position. Kyle Busch continued to lead on the restart. With three laps to go, the final caution of the race came out and it involved championship contender Ty Dillon. Kyle Larson drove his No.4 truck hard into turn three and Larson got loose and spun up into Dillon, knocking Dillon into the wall. Larson then backed his truck into the wall and then came down the track into traffic and he tagged Ryan Blaney and Blaney went nose first into the outside wall. The incident brought out the red flag with just two laps remaining in the race.

All drivers in the accident were okay but Ty Dillon was running second at the time of the incident and he was only one point out of the championship lead and his championship chances were hurt badly after the incident. Buescher pitted once the yellow flag was displayed and he would restart eleventh. Timothy Peters was the last driver with a chance to beat James Buescher for the championship and he had one last chance to do so.

The battle for the lead got heated on the final lap. Coming out of turn four Kyle Busch was on the outside while Cale Gale was on the inside and they were side by side heading for the line. Gale pushed Busch up into the wall and Gale edged Busch out at the line by 0.014 seconds. This was Gale’s first career Truck Series win and he was the ninth first time winner in the Truck Series for 2012. An extremely close finish was one way to end the season on a high note.

Timothy Peters was unable to beat James Buescher by the amount of positions he needed to and James Buescher crossed the line to win his first career NASCAR championship. Buescher did a champion style burn-out and he pulled into the championship victory lane. Buescher was excited beyond belief about getting his first championship and getting his team (Turner Motorsports) their first championship. This was Buescher fourth season in the Truck Series and he finished runner-up in the championship last year and he wasn’t going to settle for the same this year and he didn’t. Buescher said in victory lane that “The truck has done a lot for us this season.”

A magical season for Buescher finally came to a close with Buescher bringing home some new hard ware. Buescher won his first career Truck Series race this season and he went on to win a total of four races throughout the season. Buescher has now been crowned the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion and after the season he has had, no one deserved the championship more.

An incredible, exciting and thrilling season for the Truck Series has finally come to a close. We saw nine first time winners and 16 different winners throughout the season. We also witnessed a first time champion. The 2012 Truck Series season had it all and 2013 is expected to be even better. Will the 2013 season be as good as or better than the season we just finished up? Tune into the first race of the 2013 season next February from Daytona to find out.

Results via

1 5 33 Cale Gale * Chevrolet Rheem 47/0 140 Running
2 6 18 Kyle Busch Toyota Dollar General 0 140 Running
3 11 22 Joey Coulter Chevrolet Rip-It Energy Fuel 41/0 140 Running
4 4 30 Nelson Piquet   Jr. Chevrolet 41/0 140 Running
5 7 32 Miguel Paludo Chevrolet World Diabetes Day / Duroline 39/0 140 Running
6 10 13 Johnny Sauter Toyota SealMaster / Curb Records 39/1 140 Running
7 1 7 Parker Kligerman   Toyota Toyota 38/1 140 Running
8 14 17 Timothy Peters Toyota Toyota 36/0 140 Running
9 12 6 Justin Lofton Chevrolet Mercury 35/0 140 Running
10 18 08 Ross Chastain * Toyota Custom Cooling 34/0 140 Running
11 19 11 Todd Bodine Toyota Toyota Care 34/1 140 Running
12 9 88 Matt Crafton Toyota Menards / Ideal Door 32/0 140 Running
13 17 31 James Buescher Chevrolet Great Clips 31/0 140 Running
14 21 39 Ryan Sieg Chevrolet Pull A Part LLC 30/0 140 Running
15 28 151 German Quiroga Toyota NET10 Wireless 29/0 139 Running
16 29 81 David Starr Toyota Zachry 28/0 139 Running
17 22 23 Jason White Ford 27/0 139 Running
18 30 2 Tim George Jr. Chevrolet Applebee’s 26/0 139 Running
19 25 27 Jason Leffler Chevrolet Hillman Racing 25/0 138 Running
20 8 9 Ron Hornaday Chevrolet Smokey Mountain Herbal Snuff 24/0 138 Running
21 24 84 Mario Gosselin Toyota Carport Empire / ProBuilt 23/0 138 Running
22 20 101 Jake Crum Chevrolet Bandit Chippers 22/0 137 Running
23 13 8 Max Gresham * Chevrolet Made in USA Brand 21/0 137 Running
24 26 07 Jeff Agnew Chevrolet Wear Your Gear / http://www.Bobber .info 20/0 136 Running
25 3 3 Ty Dillon * Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Tracker Boats 19/0 135 Running
26 36 225 Travis Miller Chevrolet Little Joes A
0 135 Running
27 2 4 Kyle Larson Chevrolet Earnhardt Ganassi Racing 19/2 131 Accident
28 16 29 Ryan Blaney Ram Cooper Standard 16/0 131 Accident
29 35 57 Norm Benning Chevrolet Gardner Motor Group 15/0 131 Running
30 34 93 Ryan Lynch Chevrolet 14/0 130 Running
31 32 10 Jennifer Jo Cobb   Ram Driven2Honor.-
org / Koma Unwind
13/0 129 Running
32 15 09 John Wes Townley   * Toyota Zaxby’s 12/0 118 Running
33 33 99 Bryan Silas * Ford Rockingham Speedway 11/0 43 Accident
34 23 220 Dusty Davis * Toyota Speedy Polish / Thunder Exhaust / Millennium VIP Group Inc. 10/0 28 Clutch
35 27 38 Chris Jones Chevrolet RSS Racing 9/0 10 Brakes
36 31 0 Blake Koch Ford 0 3 Transmission



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s