Smith Takes Win, Stenhouse Jr Takes Championship

Photo- Getty Images

A hard fought 2012 Nationwide Series season came to a close with a first time winner in the Nationwide Series and a driver winning two consecutive championships. Ricky Stenhouse Jr did all he needed to do Saturday evening in Homestead-Miami to claim his second straight championship. Stenhouse Jr and his crew made no mistakes all night long and they received a great rewarded of a championship trophy. Regan Smith raced in his first Nationwide Race in five years and he dominated the race and took home the trophy.

Pole-sitter Kyle Busch dominated early in the race and le led much of the first half of the Ford EcoBoost 300. The race stayed green for much of the first half and the first caution didn’t fly until lap 66. The caution came out for Ryan Truex who crashed in turn four after getting into the wall and spinning down the track then he over-corrected the car and went nose first into the wall at the beginning of the frontstretch. The second yellow flag of the race came out on lap 73 for Robert Richardson Jr who got loose in turn four and spun down the track through traffic. The first lead change of the day occurred when Regan Smith passed Busch for the lead on lap 92.

The halfway mark of the race came up very quick and Sam Hornish Jr was the leader after he took the lead under the last caution. Ricky Stenhouse Jr was in fourteenth at the halfway point and the driver chasing him –Elliot Sadler- was sixteenth. Sadler needed to gain at least twenty points in this race if he wanted the championship and halfway through the race, Sadler wasn’t getting it done.

Austin Dillon took the lead with 95 laps to go. Dillon had a slight chance at the championship coming into the race but he would need Stenhouse Jr and Sadler to have issues. For a rookie, Dillon was doing well in his first Nationwide season. If a rookie was told he or she would be competing for the championship in their rookie season they wouldn’t have believed it. Dillon proved that rookies can be successful and with a third place finish in the standings in his rookie season, he did pretty well.

The race was winding down and Sadler sat in third while Stenhouse Jr was in fifth. Sadler was still not doing good enough to have shot at the championship and by this point, he’s hoping for a miracle. With 27 laps to go, the caution flew for debris and the field was set up to have another restart. The leaders pitted under the caution and Sadler came off of the pits third while Stenhouse Jr came off fifth. Regan Smith re-gained the lead on the restart and he started to set sail.

The final caution of the race and season came out with twenty laps to go for Johanna Long who wrecked hard on the backstretch. Long got hit in the left rear by Joey Logano and she spun down the paved run-off area on the backstretch and she went nose first into the inside wall, lifting the car off the ground for a second. Long got out of the car by herself and she was okay. Regan Smith took off on the final restart, leaving the rest of the field in his rearview mirror. Smith would cross the finish line first and win his first career Nationwide Series race. Smith said in victory lane that this is a good start to his full-time ride in the No.5 car starting in 2013.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr finished sixth while Sadler finished ninth and Stenhouse Jr had won the championship for the second straight year. Stenhouse Jr joined an elite group of drivers who have won the Nationwide Series championship in back to back years. Stenhouse Jr is the first driver to accomplish the feat since Martin Truex Jr did it in 2004 and 2005. Stenhouse Jr celebrated with his team in the championship victory lane and he said “These guys (his team) have done a great job all season.” Stenhouse Jr had a lot more mishaps this season than last year and without his amazing crew, Stenhouse Jr’s car wouldn’t have been able to race after he had incidents on the track and he needed to get back on the track to salvage points. Stenhouse Jr will move up to the Cup Series in 2013 and he will be competing with the Cup drivers to try to win his third consecutive NASCAR championship.

An amazing and competitive season in the Nationwide Series has come to a close. This season we saw lots of young talent come through along with Ricky Stenhouse Jr winning his second straight championship. In 2013, a lot of new faces will be competing for the Nationwide Series title and it is sure to be another great season. In just under 100 days the Nationwide Series will be back in action in Daytona, a long off-season is ahead and the 2013 season looms in the near future.

Photo- Getty Images

Results via

1 10 5 Regan Smith Chevrolet 0 200 Running
2 1 54 Kyle Busch Toyota Monster   Energy 0 200 Running
3 16 33 Brendan Gaughan Chevrolet South   Point Hotel & Casino 0 200 Running
4 11 12 Sam Hornish Jr. Dodge Alliance   Truck Parts 41/1 200 Running
5 3 3 Austin Dillon * Chevrolet Bass   Pro Shops 40/1 200 Running
6 4 6 Ricky Stenhouse   Jr. Ford Cargill 39/1 200 Running
7 7 11 Brian Scott Toyota Dollar   General 37/0 200 Running
8 20 22 Ryan Blaney Dodge Discount   Tire 36/0 200 Running
9 2 2 Elliott Sadler Chevrolet OneMain   Financial 36/1 200 Running
10 8 88 Cole Whitt * Chevrolet   Gator Bowl 34/0 200 Running
11 6 31 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet Brandt 33/0 200 Running
12 32 43 Michael Annett Ford Pilot   Flying J 32/0 200 Running
13 14 7 Danica Patrick Chevrolet   “Make Yourself Mobile” 32/1 200 Running
14 15 21 Joey Coulter Chevrolet Darrell   Gwynn Foundation 0 200 Running
15 17 199 Kenny Wallace Toyota Toyota 30/1 200 Running
16 5 18 Joey Logano Toyota GameStop   / Afterglow 0 200 Running
17 18 38 Brad Sweet * Chevrolet Great   Clips 27/0 200 Running
18 25 87 Joe Nemechek Toyota AM / FM   Energy Wood & Pellet Stoves 26/0 200 Running
19 24 10 Mike Bliss Toyota G-Oil 25/0 200 Running
20 13 8 Scott Lagasse   Jr. Chevrolet HybridLight   / BSA 0 200 Running
21 22 198 Kevin Swindell Ford Carroll   Shelby Motors 24/1 200 Running
22 23 51 Jeremy Clements Chevrolet St.   Jude / USS James E. Williams DDG 95 22/0 200 Running
23 31 108 Jeffrey   Earnhardt Ford 21/0 198 Running
24 28 124 David Starr Toyota Headrush 0 198 Running
25 19 30 Dakoda   Armstrong Chevrolet 0 197 Running
26 34 01 Mike Wallace Chevrolet G&K   Services 18/0 197 Running
27 30 14 Eric McClure Toyota Hefty /   Reynolds Wrap 17/0 196 Running
28 21 27 Andrew Ranger Ford GCM1 16/0 195 Running
29 35 81 Jason Bowles * Toyota Thrush   and Son / Hi Technologies 15/0 195 Running
30 26 19 Hal Martin Toyota American   Custom Yachts / US Forensics 0 195 Running
31 41 4 Danny Efland Chevrolet Tradebank 13/0 193 Running
32 33 52 Joey Gase * Chevrolet BBB /   My Three Sons Vending 12/0 190 Running
33 40 23 Robert   Richardson Jr. Chevrolet North   Texas Pipe 11/0 188 Running
34 36 70 Johanna Long * Chevrolet Foretravel   Motorcoach 10/0 177 Running
35 37 40 Erik Darnell Chevrolet Key   Motorsports 9/0 147 Out of   Race
36 27 44 John Blankenship   Chevrolet Coal   Save the Country 0 92 In Pit
37 38 41 Juan Carlos Blum   Chevrolet Key   Motorsports 7/0 92 Out of   Race
38 12 20 Ryan Truex Toyota Grime   Boss 6/0 66 In Pit
39 9 100 Blake Koch Toyota teamboom 5/0 40 In Pit
40 42 191 Jeff Green Toyota Bandit   Chippers 4/0 17 In Pit
41 29 46 Chase Miller Chevrolet The   Motorsports Group 3/0 6 In Pit
42 43 42 Josh Wise Chevrolet Curtis   Key Plumbing 0 6 In Pit
43 39 39 Dexter Stacey Ford Maddies   Place 1/0 0 Out of   Race



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s