N.C Education Lottery 200 Preview

Photo- Getty Images
Photo- Getty Images

After an off and on start to the season for the Camping World Truck Series, the race this Friday at Charlotte will be the start of the main part of their season. When they last raced at Kansas, Matt Crafton took home the victory and his win solidified the fact that ThorSport Racing is off to one hot start this season with Crafton and Johnny Sauter. Their team has proven that they are the organization to beat this season and that statement will likely hold true throughout the upcoming races.

Crafton took home the victory on the last mile and a half track the trucks were at (Kansas) and this weekend’s race at Charlotte could fall right into his pocket. The past races at Charlotte have proven to be tough and demanding and they usually leave the most dominant driver on top. Craziness always happens to be present when the trucks hit the track and this Friday Night’s race should be as dramatic as always.

The North Carolina Education Lottery 200 is scheduled for Friday, May 17, 2013 and the green flag is scheduled to wave around 8:00 PM EST. The race will feature 134 laps and 201 miles. Friday Night’s weather forecast looks decent with a partly cloudy skies and only a 10% chance of rain. You can catch the television broadcast of the race on SPEED and a radio version of the broadcast can be heard on MRN.

Last year’s race featured one of many first-time winners the season offered. Justin Lofton claimed victory in a race that he wasn’t able to get up front in until the very end. A late restart issue caused Brad Keselowski to not get a great jump and that allowed Lofton to grab the lead. Lofton has not been competing on a full-time schedule this season, but he is returning to the track this weekend to try and win his second straight race at Charlotte. He’ll have a decent shot at taking home the trophy, but he’ll need to fight his way through some fierce competition first.

Most everyone is at home when NASCAR invades Charlotte and that allows some Cup drivers to take part in the Truck Series race. Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch will be competing this Friday Night and they know they have the trucks to beat. Many drivers will also be hard to beat in the race and some likely contenders in the race include Ty Dillon, Jeb Burton, Ryan Blaney, James Buescher, Johnny Sauter, and Matt Crafton. Crafton also holds the points lead so this race will be even more important for him and if he can do well, he may leave the track with his name still atop the standings. This race will be as wide open as most of the races have been this season; so really, anyone could be in victory lane at the end of the race.

Nothing is better than some good, hard, and exciting truck racing on a Friday Night and that is exactly what’s in-store for this weekend. Drivers will be pumped up to get on the track this weekend and fans are excited for the return of the trucks. No matter who takes the victory, the race will surely be full of fireworks and action and that will be why fans leave happy. Charlotte is always a track geared up for some great racing and the trucks will surely be providing it on this Friday of All-Star Race Weekend.

Event Schedule

11:30 AM- 1:30 PM EST (Thursday) Truck Series Practice, not televised

2:00-4:30 PM EST (Thursday) Truck Series Practice, not televised

10:30-11:50 AM EST (Friday) Truck Series Final Practice, televised on SPEED

4:00 PM EST (Friday) Truck Series Qualifying, televised on SPEED

8:00 PM EST (Friday) the Truck Series’ North Carolina Education Lottery 200, televised on SPEED

Next Race– Lucas Oil 200 at the Dover International Speedway in Dover, Delaware

By Jason Schultz

Entry List via Jayski.com







1 101 Jake Crum Frontline Designs /Jersey Mike’s   Subs 08 Chevy Sabrina Crum
2 002 Brad Keselowski (i) Draw-Tite 13 Ford Brad Keselowski
3 102 Tyler Young Randco 10 Chevy Randy Young
4 3 Ty Dillon Bass Pro Shops-Tracker Boats 13 Chevy Richard Childress
5 4 Jeb Burton # Arrowhead/Kanagaroo Express 13 Chevy Harry Scott Jr
6 5 Tim George Jr. Applebee’s 13 Chevy Richard Wauters
7 6 Justin Lofton MadVapes 11 Chevy Eddie Sharp
8 7 John Wes Townley Zaxby’s 12 Toyota Tom Deloach
9 07 Chris Cockrum Advanced Communications   Group/ACCU-TECH 13 Chevy Ken Smith
10 8 Max Gresham AmWins 12 Chevy Eddie Sharp
11 9 Ron Hornaday Jr. NTS/Piggly Wiggly 13 Chevy Joe Denette
12 10 Jennifer Jo Cobb KOMA Unwind Relaxation Drink 11 RAM Jennifer Jo Cobb
13 13 Todd Bodine Mattei 13 Toyota Duke Thorson
14 17 Timothy Peters Parts Plus 12 Toyota Tom Deloach
15 18 Joey Coulter Darrell Gwynn Foundation 13 Toyota Kyle Busch
16 19 Ross Chastain TBA 13 Ford Brad Keselowski
17 24 Brennan Newberry Qore-24 13 Chevy Bob Newberry
18 27 Jeff Agnew TBA 13 Chevy Michael Hillman
19 28 Blake Koch (i) FDNY 13 Chevy Jim Rosenblum
20 29 Ryan Blaney Cooper Standard 13 Ford Brad Keselowski
21 31 James Buescher Rheem 13 Chevy Steve Turner
22 32 Miguel Paludo Leavine Childern’s Hospital 13 Chevy Steve Turner
23 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing 13 Ford Pam Sieg
24 50 Danny Efland (i) TBA 13 Chevy Mark Beaver
25 51 Kyle Buschi (i) Toyota Care 13 Toyota Kyle Busch
26 54 Darrell Wallace Jr. Liberty Tire Recycling/GroundSmart   Rubber Mulch 13 Toyota Kyle Busch
27 57 Norm Benning TBA 13 Chevy Norm Benning
28 60 Dakoda Armstrong Winfield 13 Chevy Vickie Compton
29 62 Brendan Gaughan South Point 13 Chevy Richard Childress
30 175 Caleb Holman Alpha Dog-Highland Hickory Market   – Food Country USA 12 Chevy Charles Henderson
31 77 German Quiroga # Net 10 Wireless 13 Toyota Tom Deloach
32 81 David Starr NCER/BYF 13 Toyota Bobby Dotter
33 84 Chris Fontaine Glenden Enterprises 09 Toyota Chris Fontaine
34 88 Matt Crafton Menards 13 Toyota Rhonda Thorson
35 88 Scott Riggs (i) 92 Blacks Tire / Fleet HQ / QMI /   Davis Tire 12 Chevy Michael Hester
36 93 Chris Jones RSS Racing 13 Ford Pam Sieg
37 98 Johnny Sauter Carolina Nut Co – Curb Records 13 Toyota Mike Curb
38 99 Bryan Silas Rockingham Speedway 13 Ford Chris Baluch





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s