The Chase 101

NASCAR’s playoffs, or the Chase for the Sprint Cup, is a ten-race fight for the championship. The 26-race regular season narrows the field to 16 title contenders who battle through three elimination rounds to be one of the four drivers competing for the championship in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

This format was introduced in 2014 and remains relatively new. To breakdown how NASCAR crowns its champion, I introduce “Chase for the Sprint Cup 101.”

ChaseExplan4 ChaseExplan5 ChaseExplan6